Enchanted

“Three times?”
Putri, the member of MC division shocked to know that I have attended Ubud Writers & Readers Festival (UWRF) for three times.

“What makes you come again and again? Why do you want to be a volunteer? Don’t you want to aim higher or trying something else?”
I smiled, and answer firmly, “on the last day, you will understand.”

***

2013 was my first time experiencing the magical ambiance of UWRF. After months arguing with my mom if I ever make any income from my passion in writing, I had to look for something that can support my arguments. I knew UWRF from my former-mentor-now-my-boss Kak Ollie Salsabeela. Despite the fact that I had very little money, a bit cold, and we were about to welcome Idul Adha, I went by bus. Now that I have went to Bali every year by plane, I have to congratulate my patience that time. 11 hours one way, you know. And I was there for only 48 hours.

My first UWRF actually didn’t run very smooth. I arrived in the morning but I couldn’t go straight to Ubud due to some miscommunication. I had to miss a workshop that I have paid for IDR150000. I was mad but I didn’t know how to go to Ubud by myself. After a few calls, I finally arrived in Ubud in the afternoon. I also have to miss (again) night events because I have to be back to Denpasar soon. That evening, I paid IDR200000 for my taxi. Zzz.

The next day, everything was changed. I met Trinity Traveler, Agustinus Wibowo, and Don George. One hour that transforming my life…long story short, I decided to do solo traveling to Malaysia, Vietnam, and Cambodia for 23 days in April 2014.

Yes, that’s how powerful UWRF is.

Back to UWRF2013, I met Ayu Meutia, who happened to borrow prayer dress (mukenah) from me. She was a volunteer (and just released her poetry book in UWRF2016), and I was like, “oh, so we can be a volunteer here?” I didn’t ask if I get paid, all I want to do is to take part in this wonderful event.

After that long trip which spent all my savings (and all my unpaid leaves for two years), the volunteer application for UWRF2014 opened. I was a bit anxious if my boss will give me another leaves. But God’s help arrived in the form of one of my clients. Keith Mander is an Ireland lives in Bali, and came by to my office to greet my team. We exchanged stories about UWRF (he has been volunteered too), and tadaaa, my boss allowed me to go.

Another surprise came to me in UWRF2014. After sending my application to be the volunteer for Book Launch sessions, I got a call from the cutie pie Kak Paris. “I saw your profile video somewhere, you speak English very well, can I offer you to be an MC?” ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

Although I had experience on working as radio broadcaster, I have never became an MC. Blame it to the producer who always said I cant’t be an MC due to my hijabi attire. Kak Paris Duarte didn’t receive a ‘no’. He convinced me, and when he ended the call, I was trembled on my chair. The biggest Southeast Asia literary festival wanted me to be an MC. MC. MC.

Being the MC, I had chances to talk with Bondan Winarno, Azyumardi Azra, and Sacha Stevenson (and many more) in person. Let’s not count how much I ‘got paid’ for the exclusive lunch on 5-star hotel…one session cost $95 for the guest. It was much more than that. I taught Robyn Davidson to use Instagram and show her my blog – as she said she was curious about how millennials can write and post many things in daily manner. I worked with a Michelin star chef. I got the secret formula of a long-lasting intercultural marriage (important!!!)

What matter the most was, I broke the judgment that has haunted me for years. I can be the MC, straight to be an English-speaking MC in an international event. Mamam tuh, Pak Produser.

Yes, that’s how big the opportunity in UWRF is.

UWRF2015 marked one of the most important event in my life. It felt like I was about to prepare my wedding day. LOL. I flew to Bali two weeks before UWRF because one of my best friend got married (yes, in Bali). I asked Kak Ochie if I can help more. She answered in relaxing tone, “yes sure, you can be the MC Supervisor.” ARE YOU KIDDING ME (AGAIN)?

I worked day and night (so that it sounds I worked hard…) to select some applicants, interview them, and arrange the schedule. Turned out, it was so hard to get English-speaking Indonesian who is brave enough to speak in front of public. Not that they can’t do it, more likely they were not confident. Just like me in 2014.

After acquiring 10 (or 11?) persons in my team, one main problem still has to be resolved. Who would be the MC for Festival Welcome and Keynote Speech? Kak Ochie and Mutia, her assistant, looked at me, then I looked at another way…..”hey, hey, Prima, why don’t you become the MC?” “Why me?” “Why not?” A-ha-ha-ha, I laughed awkwardly and said “oke deh.”
foto-1_uwrf_prima
Image Credit: Stanny Angga
Being the MC Supervisor exposed me to another kind of leisure. I worked closely with other divisions, and faced some complicated-yet-exciting challenges. I have never feel so confident in my skin: I am Indonesian and this event should be run and attended by more Indonesians (although yes, thank you to Bu Janet DeNeefe who created this event at the first place). UWRF2015 recorded that 60% percent of the participants were Indonesian, and I got only 1 foreigner in my team. I was so proud of my team who put extra efforts than we expected. I was extremely satisfied although I missed it when my name announced at the closing ceremony (I still had dinner with fellow volunteers).

All thosehardships-turn-into-happiness, the struggles-turn-into-pleasures, the lessons I obtained, still can’t explain how fabulous UWRF is.

That night after closing ceremony, I turned to Putri and ask how she felt about our togetherness for six days.

“You were right. I couldn’t imagine I just come here this year.”

🙂

(Putri was volunteered again in UWRF2016)

 

 
Primadita Rahma is an Ubud Writers & Readers Festival Volunteer 2014 – 2015.AProfessional Communicator in the making. Currently trying to educate youth through inspiring articles on her blog and online media, as well as reducing poverty by working on an entrepreneurial crowdfunding platform.

Leave a comment